Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements by State

To keep uninsured and underinsured drivers to an absolute minimum, state authorities have rules governing the minimum insurance requirements in each state. To be fully and legally covered, you need to meet these limits.

Find your best rate on Car Insurance!

Attention: Still Open During the Financial Crisis...

Tip: Act now to see if you qualify for lower rates!

Compare free personalized quotes from the nation's top providers.

Currently insured?
Do you own multiple vehicles?
Own your home?

Minimum Coverage in Each State

Minimum state coverage is often split between Per Person cover (denoted with “PP”) and Per Accident cover (denoted with “PA”).

Take a look at the following state requirements to understand the minimum limits and make sure you have all bases covered when you apply for car insurance. 

  • Alabama = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability.
  • Alaska = $50,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $100,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability.
  • Arizona = $15,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $30,000 (PA). $10,000 property damage liability.
  • Arkansas = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability.
  • California = $15,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $30,000 (PA). $5,000 property damage liability.
  • Colorado = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $15,000 property damage liability.
  • Connecticut = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability. $25,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $50,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA).
  • Delaware = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $10,000 property damage liability. $15,000 personal injury protection (PP) and $30,000 personal injury protection (PA).
  • Florida = $15,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PA). $10,000 property damage liability.
  • Georgia = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability.
  • Hawaii = $20,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $40,000 (PA). $10,000 property damage liability and $10,000 personal injury protection.
  • Idaho = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $15,000 property damage liability.
  • Illinois = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $20,000 property damage liability. $25,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $50,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA).
  • Indiana = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability.
  • Iowa = $20,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $40,000 (PA). $15,000 property damage liability.
  • Kansas = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability. $25,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $50,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA). Additional personal injury protection, survivor benefits, and other cover may also be required.
  • Kentucky = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability. $10,000 personal injury protection.
  • Louisiana = $15,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $30,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability.
  • Maine = $50,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $100,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability. $50,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $100,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA). $2,000 coverage for medical payments.
  • Maryland = $30,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $60,000 (PA). $15,000 property damage liability. $30,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PP), $60,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PA) and $15,000 uninsured/underinsured property damage (PA).
  • Massachusetts = $20,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $40,000 (PA). $5,000 property damage liability. $20,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $40,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA). $8,000 personal injury protection.
  • Michigan = $20,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $40,000 (PA). $10,000 property damage liability outside of the state and $1 million inside it.
  • Minnesota = $30,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $60,000 (PA). $10,000 property damage liability. $25,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $50,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA). $40,000 personal injury protection.
  • Mississippi = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability.
  • Missouri =  $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability. $25,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $50,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA).
  • Montana = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $20,000 property damage liability.
  • Nebraska =  $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability. $25,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $50,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA).
  • Nevada = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $20,000 property damage liability.
  • New Hampshire = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability. $25,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $50,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA). $1,000 cover for medical payments.
  • New Jersey = $15,000 personal injury protection and $5,000 property damage liability (PA).
  • New Mexico = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $10,000 property damage liability.
  • New York = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $50,000 death liability (PP), $100,000 death liability (PA). $25,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $50,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA). $50,000 personal injury protection.
  • North Carolina =  $30,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $60,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability. $30,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PP), $60,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PA) and $25,000 uninsured/underinsured property damage (PA).
  • North Dakota = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $50,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA). $30,000 personal injury protection and $25,000 property damage.
  • Ohio = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability.
  • Oklahoma = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability.
  • Oregon = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $50,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA). $20,000 property damage.
  • Pennsylvania = $15,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $30,000 (PA). $5,000 property liability and $5,000 medical payments.
  • Rhode Island = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability.
  • South Carolina = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability. $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PP), $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PA) and $25,000 uninsured/underinsured property damage (PA).
  • South Dakota = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 uninsured/underinsured (PP) and $50,000 uninsured/underinsured (PA). $25,000 property damage.
  • Tennessee = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $15,000 property damage liability.
  • Texas = $30,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $60,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability.
  • Utah = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $65,000 (PA). $15,000 property damage liability and $3,000 personal injury protection.
  • Vermont = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $10,000 property damage liability. $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PP), $100,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PA) and $10,000 uninsured/underinsured property damage (PA).
  • Virginia = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $20,000 property damage liability. $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PP), $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PA) and $20,000 uninsured/underinsured property damage (PA).
  • Washington = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $10,000 property damage liability.
  • Washington D.C. = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $10,000 property damage liability. $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PP), $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PA) and $5,000 uninsured/underinsured property damage (PA).
  • West Virginia = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $25,000 property damage liability. $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PP), $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PA) and $25,000 uninsured/underinsured property damage (PA).
  • Wisconsin = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and bodily injury liability insurance $50,000 (PA). $10,000 property damage liability. $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PP), $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist (PA).
  • Wyoming = $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance (PP) and $50,000 (PA). $20,000 property damage liability.

Car Insurance Requirements: What They Mean

Now you know what the minimum limits are, but what do they mean?

  • Bodily Injury Liability: Provides cover in the event that you do harm to another driver or one of their passengers.
  • Property Damage: Covers you in the event that you damage another driver’s car.
  • Personal Injury Protection: Often shortened to “PIP”, this covers you for a host of medical expenses if you or your passengers are involved in an accident.
  • Medical Payments Coverage: Covers medical bills if you are in an accident. Works a lot like PIP, only with some exceptions. For instance, this type of insurance will not cover you for lost wages in the event that an accident puts you out of action for a while.
  • Uninsured or Underinsured Coverage: Covers you in the event you have an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver. It has been estimated that 13% of all drivers are uninsured, making this essential.

Additional Coverage

Of course, minimum cover, as the name suggests, is the minimum amount of cover that you need and does not need to constitute all of your insurance policy. Car insurance companies also offer collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, and extra liability coverage. You can also tweak the deductibles to pay more or less insurance premiums every month.

Take a look at our other guides on the subject of automobile insurance to learn more about this subject and get the very best cover for you.